March 30, 2021

NFL Officially Expands to 17-Game Regular Season

Get ready for more football.

The NFL officially announced Tuesday that the 2021 regular season will expand to 17 games, while the preseason has been reduced to three contests. 

Players agreed to a potential 17-game season in their 2020 collective bargaining agreement. There will still be only one bye week. 

"This is a monumental moment in NFL history," NFL commissioner Roger Goodell said in a statement. "The CBA with the players and the recently completed media agreements provide the foundation for us to enhance the quality of the NFL experience for our fans. And one of the benefits of each team playing 17 regular-season games is the ability for us to continue to grow our game around the world."

Plenty of players have voiced their displeasure over the addition of an extra game, including Saints star running back Alvin Kamara

While it's unpopular with players, the 17-game season does include some additional juicy matchups, like Aaron Rodgers' Green Bay Packers taking on Patrick Mahomes and the Kansas City Chiefs and a battle between the Dallas Cowboys and New England Patriots.

To attempt to offset some of the physical wear-and-tear of an extra game, George Atallah, the NFL Players Association's assistant executive director of external affairs, assured there would be other changes to lighten the load on players' bodies. 

The 2021 NFL schedule will be released later this spring. 

Photo: Getty Images